UC San Diego
Quantitative Biology Ph.D Specialization
SearchMenu
qBio -> Faculty

qBio Faculty

Padmini Rangamani
Padmini Rangamani
Research Interests: To understand how biomechanics and biochemistry interact to regulate cellular behavior

Contact Information:
Web: Rangamani Lab
Email: padmini.rangamani@eng.ucsd.edu
Ruth Williams
Ruth Williams
Research Interests: Develops and analyses stochastic models for understanding dynamics, fluctuations and interactions in synthetic genetic circuits.

Contact Information:
Web: Willams Lab
Email: rjwilliams@ucsd.edu
Terry Hwa
Terry Hwa
Research Interests: To develop quantitative, predictive understanding of bacterial responses to environmental and genetic perturbations, from molecules to physiology.

Contact Information:
Web: Hwa Lab
Email: hwa@ucsd.edu
Alex Groisman
Alex Groisman
Research Interests: Development of techniques and materials and building of instruments for biochemistry and cell biology.

Contact Information:
Web: Groisman Lab
Email: agroisman@ucsd.edu
Nan Hao
Nan Hao
Research Interests: To obtain a quantitative and predictive understanding about how biological systems operate.

Contact Information:
Web: Hao Group
Email: nhao@ucsd.edu
Lev Tsimring
Lev Tsimring
Research Interests: I am interested in theoretical and computational approaches to understanding dynamical properties of biological systems and networks

Contact Information:
Web: Tsimring Group
Email: ltsimring@ucsd.edu
Suckjoon Jun
Suckjoon Jun
Research Interests: To understand the extent to which basic quantitative principles govern the fundamental biological processes during the cell cycle.

Contact Information:
Web: Jun Group
Email: jun@ucsd.edu
Rachel Dutton
Rachel Dutton
Research Interests: We use cheese as a model system to understand the molecular mechanisms and basic principles of microbial community formation.

Contact Information:
Web: Dutton Lab
Email: rjdutton@ucsd.edu
Eva-Maria Collins
Eva-Maria Collins
Research Interests: Principles of pattern formation and information processing in regeneration and development

Contact Information:
Web: Collins Lab
Email: emscollins@physics.ucsd.edu
James Golden
James Golden
Research Interests: To understand gene regulation in cyanobacteria and apply that knowledge to synthetic biology related to biotechnology such as biofuels.

Contact Information:
Web: Golden Group
Email: jwgolden@ucsd.edu
Elena Koslover
Elena Koslover
Research Interests: We explore the multi-scale physics of the intracellular world, using analytical and computational models to understand the mechanics and dynamics of components within living cells.

Contact Information:
Web: Koslover Lab
Email: ekoslover@ucsd.edu
Kim Cooper
Kim Cooper
Research Interests: We use the limb to understand evolution of the musculoskeletal system and the interplay of form and function at the level of tissues, cells, and genetics.

Contact Information:
Web: Cooper Lab
Email: kcooper@ucsd.edu
Brian Zid
Brian Zid
Research Interests: Investigate how cells maintain homeostasis in response to environmental perturbations using biochemical techniques combined with next-generation sequencing and quantitative microscopy.

Contact Information:
Web: Zid Lab
Email: zid@ucsd.edu
Bo Li
Bo Li
Research Interests: Develop mathematical theories and computational tools for biomolecular interactions and the dynamics of biological cells.

Contact Information:
Web: Li Lab
Email: bli@math.ucsd.edu
Ethan Bier
Ethan Bier
Research Interests: Quantitative analysis of establishment and function of morphogen gradients during development.

Contact Information:
Web: Super Fly Lab
Email: ebier@ucsd.edu
Peter Yingxiao Wang
Peter Yingxiao Wang
Research Interests: To employ molecular engineering approaches for the development of biosensors and machinery molecules to visualize and reprogram molecular events in single cells.

Contact Information:
Web: Wang Lab
Email: yiw015@eng.ucsd.edu
Massimo Vergassola
Massimo Vergassola
Research Interests: To understand sensing of their environment by living systems, and its exploitation for control and biological function.

Contact Information:
Web: Vergassola Group
Email: massimo@physics.ucsd.edu
Olga Dudko
Olga Dudko
Research Interests: We search for general principles that unify seemingly very different and often formidably complex biological systems. We enjoy trying to capture these principles in the form of physical theories that are reasonably simple and abstract, and yet generate concrete, experimentally testable predictions.

Contact Information:
Web: Dudko Group
Email: dudko@physics.ucsd.edu
Gürol Süel
Gürol Süel
Research Interests: Our goal is to identify principles of cellular decision making at the single cell level and in the context of structured communities.

Contact Information:
Web: Suel Lab
Email: gsuel@ucsd.edu
Andrew McCulloch
Andrew McCulloch
Research Interests: To understand the mechanisms by which molecular and genetic alterations in heart disease disregulate cardiac electromechanical function in vivo.

Contact Information:
Web: Cardiac Mechanics Research Group
Email: amcculloch@ucsd.edu
David Kleinfeld
David Kleinfeld
Research Interests: To understand the logic and dynamics of interacting neuronal circuits, with a focus on sensorimotor circuits that underlie orofacial actions in rodents.

Contact Information:
Web: Neurophysics Lab
Email: dk@physics.ucsd.edu
Juan del Alamo
Juan del Alamo
Research Interests: To understand the mechanics of the generation of the cellular forces and shape changes during cell invasion and migration.

Contact Information:
Web: del Álamo’s Research Group
Email: jalamo@ucsd.edu
Wouter Rappel
Wouter Rappel
Research Interests: Our research interests are diverse and include cardiac dynamics, cellular signaling, cell motility, and chemotaxis.

Contact Information:
Web: Rappel Group
Email: rappel@physics.ucsd.edu
Justin Meyer
Justin Meyer
Research Interests: To uncover the genomic changes necessary to alter viral host-range, and to understand the environmental conditions that permit their evolution.

Contact Information:
Web: Meyer Lab
Email: jrmeyer@ucsd.edu
Karen Oegema
Karen Oegema
Research Interests: To understand the gene networks and molecular mechanisms underlying cell division and development

Contact Information:
Web: Oegema Lab
Email: koegema@ucsd.edu
Arshad Desai
Arshad Desai
Research Interests: To understand how cells ensure accurate distribution of their duplicated genomes during cell division.

Contact Information:
Web: OD Lab
Email: abdesai@ucsd.edu
Elizabeth Villa
Elizabeth Villa
Research Interests: To develop tools to observe the structure and interaction partners of macromolecular complexes in their natural environment, the cell.

Contact Information:
Web: Villa Lab
Email: evilla@ucsd.edu
Sheng Zhong
Sheng Zhong
Research Interests: To study causal relationships between gene regulation and cellular behaviors, by developing computational and experimental methods on network modeling, stem cell engineering, epigenomic and single-cell analyses.

Contact Information:
Web: Zhong Systems Biology Lab
Email: szhong@ucsd.edu
Scott Rifkin
Scott Rifkin
Research Interests: How do developmental processes constrain phenotypic variation?

Contact Information:
Web: Rifkin Lab
Email: sarifkin@ucsd.edu
Jeff Hasty
Jeff Hasty
Research Interests: Design and construction of synthetic gene regulatory and signaling networks. Development of technologies for precisely regulating the cellular environment.

Contact Information:
Web: Biodynamics Lab
Email: hasty@ucsd.edu
Eric Bennett
Eric Bennett
Research Interests: Our research group is primarily interested in understanding the fundamental principles governing cellular protein homeostasis.

Contact Information:
Web: Bennett Lab
Email: e1bennett@ucsd.edu
Sergey Kryazhimskiy
Sergey Kryazhimskiy
Research Interests: We use experiments in microorganisms and mathematical modeling to understand the general principles of how mutations affect cell physiology and fitness in different environments.

Contact Information:
Web: Kryazhimskiy Lab
Email: skryazhi@ucsd.edu
Susan Golden
Susan Golden
Research Interests: To understand the mechanisms by which cells keep 24-h time and temporally regulate cellular processes

Contact Information:
Web: Circadian Biology
Email: sgolden@ucsd.edu
Karsten Zengler
Karsten Zengler
Research Interests: Defining the intertwined crosstalk between different community members in the microbiome to understand how complex systems are organized and maintained and to predict how these systems develop and react to changes and targeted interventions.

Contact Information:
Web: Zengler Lab
Email: kzengler@ucsd.edu
Cornelis Murre
Cornelis Murre
Research Interests: To chart the structure of mammalian genomes and to describe the dynamics of long-range genomic interactions in physical terms.

Contact Information:
Web: Murre Lab
Email: murre@biomail.ucsd.edu
Tatyana Sharpee
Tatyana Sharpee
Research Interests: I am interested in physical principles that shape how our brain works in a natural sensory environment.

Contact Information:
Web: BioCircuits
Email: tsharpee@ucsd.edu
X